John Henry

20130919-205939.jpg

John Henry by Julius Lester
1995 Caldecott Honor Book

Call me silly, but I actually teared up at the end of the book. I know it’s not a real story but we live in this world where to ‘good’ people get the short end of the stick even though they work twice as hard to prove themselves. The illustrations helped me place the story time wise and location. I also like the way the author talked about the connection John & the sun had. When he says John woke up before the sun since he was so tall he reached in the sky and told the sun he didn’t have all day 🙂 But, at the end when he talked about the rainbow being wrapped around his shoulders tugged at my heart! The book was funny and serious at the same time!

Leave a Reply

